Marc Márquez: Six times Champion

2 minutes

Repsol Honda team rider is crowned MotoGP World Champion for the fourth time in five years and takes his sixth career title, in one of the most closely-fought seasons in history.

Marc Márquez levanta el puño mientras rueda sobre su Honda RC213V
Marc Márquez: Six times Champion

Marc Márquez became MotoGP World Champion once again today at Valencia in the final race of the season. Aged 24 years and 268 days, the Spaniard continues to break records in Grand Prix racing, and is now the youngest rider in history to achieve six titles. In addition, he enters the exclusive club of the ten riders with the most World Championships and becomes the Spanish rider to win the most premier class titles.

One of the closest MotoGP seasons in recent years went the Repsol Honda Team rider’s way thanks to his immense determination. After a start to the campaign in which he was as low as fourth in the standings after six races, Márquez put together a run of ten podiums from a possible twelve, leading the series twice and sealing the title at the last round of the year.

Márquez confirmed World Championship number six at the same circuit where he was crowned MotoGP king for the first time in 2013, and where he also took the first of his titles in 125cc in 2010. This season the Repsol Honda rider has taken six victories, six further podiums and eight pole positions.

After around 9,000 kilometres of track time at 18 Grands Prix across 14 countries, Marc Márquez remains MotoGP World Champion and one of the leading figures in world sport.

Sporting career

A rider with such passion and talent for motorsport, Marc Marquez was always going to end up in the World Championship and seemed destined for titles from the start…

  • 1998 Beginnings in Enduro
  • 1999 Participation in the Catalonian Enduro and Motocross Championships
  • 2000 Runner-up at Catalonian Motocross-Beginners
  • 2001 Champion of Catalonia in Motocross
  • 2002 3rd at the Catalonian Road Racing Championship
  • 2003 Champion Catalonia Open RACC 50 cc
  • 2004 Runner-up at the Catalonian Road Racing Championship 125 cc
  • 2005 Champion Catalonian Road Racing Championship 125 cc
  • 2006 Champion Catalonian Road Racing Championship 125 cc and 8th Spanish Road Racing Championship (CEV)
  • 2007 9th Spanish Road Racing Championship (CEV)
  • 2008 13th 125 cc World Championship
  • 2009 8th 125 cc World Championship
  • 2010 125 cc World Champion
  • 2011 Runner-up Moto2 World Championship
  • 2012 Moto2 World Champion
  • 2013 MotoGP World Champion
  • 2014 MotoGP World Champion
  • 2015 3rd MotoGP World Championship
  • 2016 MotoGP World Champion
  • 2017 MotoGP World Champion

Volver arriba

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By making a comment, you agree to our privacy policy